An Urban Nocturne – 2024

In January 2023 I set myself a theme for my daily picture, all 31 images for my 365 that month were made during the hours of darkness. For January 2024 I’ve returned to the theme, encouraged by others in my 365 group, and as I enter the final week of this themed challenge I’ve been looking back over the images I’ve made so far this year.

The one that started it all for 2024, a few minutes after midnight on the morning of 1/1/2024
And the one that started 2023 … virtually the same time and weather but taken one step away from the 2024 offering

The difference between 2023 and this year, at least thus far, has been in my choice of camera. I started 2023 with an iPhone and went on to use the venerable Fuji X100T, a 35mm film Nikon and a 5×4 large format film camera amongst several others. So far in 2024 I’ve used mainly just the Fuji X100T and the one or two that were not from the X100T have been made with the Fuji X-T3. My intention is to continue using just the X100T for the last week of January.

I used the colour version for my 366/2024

I remember both enjoying and slightly struggling with the challenge in 2023. This year I’ve got into a bit of a routine and mostly managed to get out around 7:15am before the grandsons come down for their breakfast and have generally had my daily offering in the bag by 7:30. One thing that has helped considerably is my greater knowledge of my local patch (thank you pandemic and lockdowns) and also the fact that I’ve pre-planned most of the daily images the day before so I can head to the chosen spot and make my exposures.

No Ball Games
Not one that made the 366 although a similar image did

One of the 366 group that I belong to has suggested I extend the nocturnal challenge into February and whilst I am tempted to do so I think I will refrain from formalising the extension as the one downside of this challenge is I cannot use anything from the daylight which means some interesting opportunities are being passed up.

For the final week of the challenge I chose to work with the square format

One camera that I very much enjoy using is a Bronica SQ-A film camera that creates 6x6cm square negatives. For the last week of the Challenge I decided to work exclusively with the square format and set my X100T in the appropriate mode. Rather than crop after the event I was going to frame and capture in the square format. It was ironic that the first of these final images was cropped (see above) albeit from square to square.

The diptych above was the 366 offering for the 28th whilst the mono below it was earmarked for the 29th

Back in January 2023 I’d intended creating a zine from the images but never actually got around to it. I wonder if I will fare better this year and perhaps create a zine covering both months? Time will tell.

4 thoughts on “An Urban Nocturne – 2024”

  1. I’m enjoying these images.
    I especially love the one of the roofs (taken from over a fence?).

    I’ve taken on the challenge of photographing in the dark too this January. This was mostly prompted by wanting to carry on photographing my commute. As it’s still night and large parts of it do not have any street lights. It’s been a valuable exercise to experiment with blur, shapes, textures, and pockets of light.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Allysse, it is indeed a wooden fence/gate. I’ve pretty much dropped out of social media but where’s best for me to catch up with your January challenge? Hope you’re well.

      Like

      1. My laptop >.<
        My social media use is also falling by the wayside. In part by choice, in part because I've been super busy with a course from Rob Knight and Ian Hill.

        I'm happy to put the images up on my website for a bit and send you a link if you'd like. This would be easy enough for me to do.

        Thanks. Feeling much better of late than I did at the end of 2023. I hope it continues this way. I hope you're feeling well too. Did I read you were ill for a bit?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment