Lincolnshire Wolds 4 – Fuji X-T3 (Thursday)

Several years ago I moved first from Canon to Nikon and then a few years later to Fuji, a process I discussed at the time and which became rather academic a few years back when I returned to the film photography niche. However, I do still use both digital and film albeit the number of times I take out a digital camera is far eclipsed by the number of outings my various film cameras enjoy. However, for my Lincolnshire Wolds visit I took a selection including film, the drone and now it’s the turn of the Fuji X-T3 to be showcased.

I arrived at Dave’s house at lunchtime on the Thursday and after a brew and a catch-up (we’d not met in person since pre-pandemic) we set out in his van to catch the last few hours of daylight. A recce in readiness for the full day Friday was our objective. However, it didn’t go to plan – in a great way. I’ve already shared the drone images from which the observant will note that we had a decent sunset although the sky kicked off properly once I’d packed the drone away and we’d set off for home. Well, we did pull over and I grabbed the X-T3 and I’ve started this post with one of those images. 

A gentler start to our first foray into the Wolds

I’ve written before about the need to know your gear so well that the camera seems to disappear into the background and I’m very lucky that I still retain the muscle memory from when the X-T3 was my daily carry. One thing I didn’t realise until Dave asked whether I’d captured anything decent was that I’d not checked the LCD screen previews at all during the first hour we were out. That’s clearly a habit that using film cameras has “cured” me of!

We were blessed with some fabulous light and interesting skies across the two trips

I started the afternoon firmly in a black & white frame of mind, not surprising given how much black and white film I’ve got through this year (don’t ask!). But when the sky kicked off as we drove home I swiftly moved into a more colourful outlook.

First it teased with a rainbow … whilst I was loading a roll of film into the SIX:17
Then it started quite subtly …
… and as we pulled away

So, our short recce in readiness for a full day out on the Friday started gently and ended in spectacular fashion. We headed home with some ideas for the following morning, a clear idea on the first location of the day … and a few images to get us off to a great start. 

Watch this space for a selection of images captured with the Fuji X-T3 on the Friday. Meantime, I will leave you with my favourite X-T3 image from Thursday.

And that’s a wrap … back to the warmth and some tea!

2 thoughts on “Lincolnshire Wolds 4 – Fuji X-T3 (Thursday)”

Leave a comment