Some more expired colour film

Whilst it is true that I wouldn’t risk expired film on a project where consistent and predictable results were important I have to confess that I enjoy the jeopardy of using expired colour film. I won’t be taking any expired films with me on my trip to Cornwall for example but stoats around my home town and our immediate neighbours of Halifax or Huddersfield are a perfect opportunity for playing.

So, with a dental appointment in Halifax one afternoon recently I loaded up a couple of rolls of expired film in a pair of (very light, very plastic) Canon SLRs. The EOS 3000V was launched in 2003 and the EOS 300 slightly earlier in 1999. I had no objective in mind, but seeing that I parked 100 metres from “that” snicket my feet naturally gravitated in that direction.

Technical bit: I developed both films together in one tank using the Bellini C41 kit that I’ve been using for a couple of years now (not the same set of chemicals for all that time though!). The developer was freshly made up whilst the bleach and fix were both on their 16th rolls. I’ve detailed my process previously and it hasn’t really changed since then. These films needed the remjet removing first and I’m pleased to say that there was no drama this time. That’s the last of my pre-prepared remjet remover so next time it’s out with the baking soda!

Kodak 50D, expiration date and storage details unknown. Metered at ISO 12. (ND)

I popped the second roll of Kodak 50D from my gifted stash in the Canon EOS 300. I set the ISO to 12 and popped the 50mm f1.8 on the camera.

The first thing I noticed was the much higher level of base fog with this second roll. There are images though, fainter than I’d have liked but I went ahead and digitised the roll using my Fuji X-H1 and then converting/tweaking the files using Lightroom and Negative Lab Pro.

Two consecutive frames, same camera settings, same digitising, same conversion in NLP … very different looks!
Some weird and wacky colours
To think I sometimes bemoan the lack of wacky colours on expired film

Despite keeping the shutter speed to around 1/125th second and the lens being a decent performer these images are not the clearest I’ve ever seen. I even digitised them twice to be sure.

Kodak 200T, expiration date and storage details unknown. Metered at 50 ISO. (ND)

The 3000V was loaded with the second roll of Kodak 200T from my recent acquisition which was rated at 50 ISO. I had found a dubious looking 28-90mm f4/5.6 zoom lens in the cupboard so popped that on the camera.

Three consecutive frames … three different colour shifts
My favourite from the walk

Looking at these results, and ignoring the wacky colour shifts, it’s fair to say that the “dubious looking 28-90mm f4/5.6 zoom lens” is no longer part of my gear collection.

and finally …

I’m no stranger to photographing in urban areas nor on the streets of my local area. However, the “slap – whirr” of the mirror bouncing and the film winding on automatically did make it more difficult to be inconspicuous. It is a luxury to have automatic exposure and autofocus available to be sure but I missed the experience of using the old Leica or Canon VTDM. Indeed, much as I like these older SLRs I’m wondering whether or not it’s time to let them find new homes.

A nice dilemma to have though.

One thought on “Some more expired colour film”

Leave a comment